Life is All About Changes

So, it has been a while since I have made any posts, and it is for good reason.  My husband and I moved!  We sold our house and moved into a new one (a mobile home) all within about two weeks.  We have been crazy busy with the move, preparing for our first baby’s arrival, and getting settled into his new job and mine, which is to be our full-time household manager and soon to be full-time mom.

Most unfortunately, I am no longer able to run my cake business, as the mobile home community where we now live does not allow business activities to take place on the property.  I am saddened by this development, but our current housing situation is a stepping stone to our dream home, which we will build, and is only temporary.  A couple of years of sacrifice is worth it to achieve our ultimate goal.  I will still be doing cakes for my family, friends, and for the fun of it – just not as a business.  I do love what I do after all.

Despite no longer being able to operate as a cake business, I do not plan to dismantle this website.  I will leave the Michigan Cottage Food Law (MCFL) information available in case anyone is curious about how it works.  I have had a wonderful experience with the MCFL and I encourage any other aspiring cake bakers and decorators out there to see how they might be able to benefit from the MCFL or a similar law in their state(s).  Plus, if I leave the posts, one day, hopefully, I will have my business back up and running and I won’t have to retype the information!

If anyone has any questions for me regarding the MCFL, please don’t hesitate to ask and I will try to point you in the right direction!

Leave a Reply

